As my soul flies free

I see you all sitting there in your black, neatly ironed clothes, broad chested, hats upon your heads…hands rested serenely upon your lap
I watched you as you came through the door, you glided down the centre of the church and proceeded to sit crossed legged with your head in your lap
But please don’t cry for me my darling for I have not truly gone, my body lies in this wooden casket but my soul lives on
Please do not weep, I have not forgotten about you all…my time has come to leave this earth that is all…my story has been spun
As you sit there and think about times we spent together..do not let the tears creep through
I have had a most enjoyable life and I’m honored to have spent it with you

As the vicar takes a stand holding his head high above the pews in which you sit, he welcomes one and all
But don’t look at my coffin and cry because I have already left my earthly rented vessel
My soul is already flying high, above the swallows and the hummingbirds
I will not forget the love I was given when I walked upon solid earth

The organ starts up like a living being as strategically the pianist plays each note, sounds filling every space
As you all begin to sing the hymns written upon the pamphlets, I too sing with you though my voice is impossible to hear
Words spoken about the life I had, people listening, learning toward the words as they sound

As the funeral is coming to an end I see you walk out of the church, holding hands, heads bowed, ready to lay your heads upon your pillow
I spectate, commiserate, commemorate…I watch you all as you slip into your automobiles, tears that once ran down your tender cheeks now drying upon the concrete
For you have seen the curtain close on my body like the end of an emotional scene in a grand theatre production
Only this is no theatre in which you have all been seated but a holy place of tranquility

The time has come for you to return to your homes, your lives though different will continue on
The grief will come upon you and emotions will befall you but time as they say will heal your soul
Goodbye by family, my friends, my children, I promise I will never forget you!

Leave a comment